Blog

The aim of the workshop is to introduce the features of the joint ECMWF and EUMETSAT cloud computing systems, to provide an overview of the existing projects already using these systems and to facilitate a dialogue on the future use of the European Weather Cloud by MS-NMHSs in their official duty capacity.

Access to this particular workshop is by invitation only.

Post Meeting Update: Presentations are now available: EWC_Presentations_27_May_2020.zip

Agenda

Enrolment 07:30 UTC  (08:30 BST / 09:30 CEST / 10:30 EEST)

Opening 30-mins before the start of the meeting to allow users to verify successful connection to the online meeting tool.

Start of Workshop 08:00 UTC (09:00 BST / 10:00 CEST / 11:00 EEST)

Introduction to the European Weather Cloud (08:00 UTC)

Chair Session 1: Joachim Saalmüller 

  1. Introduction to the European Weather Cloud (Florian Pappenberger/Joachim Saalmüller)
  2. How the hosted processing infrastructures of ECMWF and EUMETSAT are integrated in the European Weather Cloud & the current data and services available to the user (Xavier Abellan/Armagan Karatosun)

Morning Break (09:00 - 09:30 UTC)

Using the system (09:30 UTC)

Chair Session 2: Stephan Siemen

  1. Demonstration of some current use cases of the European Weather Cloud 

    –LSA SAF: Florian Pinault (Météo-France)

    –Training: Christine Traeger Chatterjee (EUMETSAT)

    –Support for DHMZ Operational Forecasting: Izidor Pelajic (Croatia)

    –Climate Explorer:  Geert Jan Van Oldenborgh (KNMI)

    –Machine Learning: Stephan Siemen on behalf of Matthew Chantry (Oxford University)

     

Lunch break (11:00 - 12:00 UTC )

Looking to the future and getting involved (12:00 UTC )

Chair Session 3: Jörg Schulz

  1. Overview of the evolution plans for the European Weather Cloud
  2. How to get involved
  3. Open Q&A on all sessions

Workshop closure 14:00 UTC 



After months of preparation and hard work, the European Weather Cloud is finally taking shape. Our goal, to bring your computing resources close to where the data is produced.

We are still in the pilot phase, so only a selected group of use cases collected in 2019 are being prepared to be on-boarded. In the coming months, individual use cases will be on-boarded gradually, so we can:

  • Ensure a smooth implementation.
  • Iteratively improve the system with the feedback received.
  • Implement missing features in parallel.
  • Offer more focused attention by the European Weather Cloud staff to the on-boarding users

We will also use this space to share all the technical documentation and relevant information to get you started in the cloud. And if you have any problem or question, you may raise an issue in our Support portal or contacting your usual support contacts at ECMWF or EUMETSTAT.

Stay tuned!